Title: NFL rule question Post by: raptorsfan29 on December 08, 2009, 05:25:20 pm I didn't know how to put a good title on this. But i was watching the GB/BAL game yesterday, and got me thinking.
There was a play that was challenged, and it was a TD pass. there was also a penalty on the play, 5 yard offside. My question is would the team that denied the penalty be able to accept or decline the penalty again if the team that throw the red flag won the challenge, and the play was reversed. Title: Re: NFL rule question Post by: Dolphin-UK on December 08, 2009, 05:42:24 pm Ok, just looked for the play, assuming it's the one I think it is, if there had been a ruling that it wasn't a touchdown, the referees "should" have then offered the penalty to Baltimore to either accept the 5 yard penalty and repeat the down, or decline to take the down and yardage gained.
Title: Re: NFL rule question Post by: Brian Fein on December 09, 2009, 01:09:16 pm I believe I've seen an instance before where, after the ruling on the field is overturned, the coaches have an opportunity to re-evaluate their decision on the penalty.
Title: Re: NFL rule question Post by: Sunstroke on December 09, 2009, 01:39:42 pm The coaches do have that opportunity on a reviewed play... |